American Legion - Earl Graham Post 159
Bryan Texas

Still Serving!

AUXILIARY          SONS OF AL          HONOR GUARD          AL RIDERS          
BOY SCOUTS          BOYS STATE          GIRLS STATE              JR SHOOTING               SCHOOL AWARDS        ORATORICAL


Boys State

American Legion Boys State is among the most respected educational programs of government instruction for high school students. Each participant becomes a part of the operation of his local, county and state government.

Boys State has been a program of The American Legion since 1935.

At American Legion Boys State, participants are exposed to the rights and privileges, the duties and the responsibilities of a franchised citizen. The training is objective and practical with city, county and state governments operated by the students elected to the various offices. Activities include legislative sessions, court proceedings, law enforcement presentations, assemblies, bands, chorus and recreational programs.

The American Legion has established certain qualifications for prospective Boys State citizens. Following are the recommended guidelines that are employed by most American Legion Boys State programs.

  • Only males who have successfully completed their junior year of high school and have at least one more semester of high school remaining are considered eligible to participate
  • Any boy who has previously attended an American Legion Boys State is not eligible to attend a second session
  • Only boys with outstanding qualities of leadership, character, scholarship, loyalty and service to their schools and community should be considered.In the actual selection of boys as citizens of Boys State, merit and ability alone are the basis for selection
  • American Legion Boys States are in compliance with federal handicap laws.

Interested students should contact their school Counselors or Legionnaire Bob Ellis for application instructions.

Famous alumni of the Boys State program include: Tom Brokaw, Bill Clinton, Neil Armstrong, Mike Huckabee, Michael Jordan, Rush Limbaugh, Mark Wahlberg, George Pataki, and Harry Reid.